Elders & Deacons IMG_4099_2

Elders & Deacons of Opequon Presbyterian Church provide leadership, direction, and vision for the ministry of the Church.

As a congregation of the Presbyterian Church (USA), Opequon Presbyterian Church is governed by the Constitution which is comprised of the Book of Order and Book of Confessions.  According to the Book of Order, there are three types of Ordered Ministry: Ruling Elders (Session members), Teaching Elders (Pastors and Session members) and Deacons.  The Session (ruling elders and teaching elders together) is the governing council of the church.  As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament church provided persons with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people.  Congregations elect persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit. Ruling elders are so named not because they “lord it over” the congregation (Matt. 20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church.  Teaching elders (also called ministers of the Word and Sacrament) shall in all things be committed to teaching the faith and equipping the saints for the work of ministry (Eph. 4:12). They may serve in a variety of ministries, as authorized by the presbytery. When they serve as preachers and teachers of the Word, they shall preach and teach the faith of the church, so that the people are shaped by the pattern of the gospel and strengthened for witness and service. When they serve at font and table, they shall interpret the mysteries of grace and lift the people’s vision toward the hope of God’s new creation. When they serve as pastors, they shall support the people in the disciplines of the faith amid the struggles of daily life. When they serve as presbyters, they shall participate in the responsibilities of governance, seeking always to discern the mind of Christ and to build up Christ’s body through devotion, debate, and decision.

The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment should be chosen for this ministry.  The six ordained deacons of Opequon Church lead our Congregational Care Ministry.

  • Bill Hopeck  Building and Grounds Ministry
  • Becky Proctor – Fellowship Ministry
  • Kirsta Weber – Christian Education Ministry
  • Susan Ritter  Technology & Communication Ministry

    • Mitch Orndorff – Administration Ministry, Personnel
    • Leslie Tucker – Worship Ministry
    • Susanna Shade – Mission Ministry
    • Robin Owens  Christian Education Ministry

  • Vicki Schmidt-Crites – Evangelism Team
  • Graham Taylor – Mission Ministry
  • Marc DesMarais – Mission Ministry
  • Bill Burslem – Administration Ministry, Building & Grounds

  • Debbie Bender – 2019
  • Dom Camaro – 2018
  • Betty Chuckle – 2019
  • Brenda Hawkins – 2018
  • June Malone – 2019
  • Bill Martin – 2018


  • Mac McNichols – Chair – 2018
  • George Schember – 2019
  • Larry Donovan – 2020

Clerk of Session

  • Stephen Brown